ONE VCU: RESPONSIBLE TOGETHER - Get guidelines and information for fostering a safe campus during COVID-19 at

Two Robertson School faculty to receive VCU's Distinguished Faculty Award

Peyton Rowe and Jeanine Guidry, Ph.D., will be honored for their work at VCU.
Jeanine Guidry and Peyton Rowe

Peyton Rowe, professor and interim director of the Robertson School of Media and Culture, will be honored with VCU's Outstanding Term Faculty Award. Jeanine Guidry, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Robertson School, will receive the VCU Outstanding Early Career Award.

The Outstanding Term Faculty Award rewards one current full-time term faculty at the rank of instructor or higher with $3,500 and a non-monetary gift. Recipients have at least three consecutive years of employment at VCU and should have achieved superior accomplishment consistent with Quest 2025, and in the areas of teaching, research and scholarship, and service.

The Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award is open to all current full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty at the rank of associate professor, and below. Winners are rewarded a monetery award of $3,500 and a non-monetary gift. A recipient of this award should have achieved superior accomplishment consistent with Quest 2025 and in the areas of teaching, research and scholarship, and service.

Rowe has taught at the college level for more than 20 years and continues to learn each year how to do it better. Rowe has taught design, art direction and campaigns as well as capstone leadership courses. At VCU alone, Rowe has mobilized 847 volunteers to serve 103 Richmond nonprofits with more than $1.9 million in pro bono marketing work in the past 10 years. Pro bono service is the social change tool that has been a quiet partner in key social movements and will be critical in nonprofit capacity growth in the next 20 years.

Guidry's research agenda focuses on the use of visual social media and mobile technology in health, risk, and crisis communication and message design, and her dissertation research studied effective message design development for the future Zika vaccine. Together with Marcus Messner, Ph.D., Guidry won the national first-place award in the Best Practices in Teaching Competition of Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) for the “Global Health and Social Media” open online course. She also won the AEJMC ComSHER Lori Eason Award for Top Student Paper in 2014.

Since 1982, VCU has paid formal tribute at Convocation to members of the faculty who support its mission with distinction and exemplify what is best about the university. All of the award winners will be honored by President Michael Rao at the Annual Faculty Convocation on Thursday, Sept. 2, 3-4 p.m., at the W.E. Singleton Center for the Performing Arts.

← back