ONE VCU: RESPONSIBLE TOGETHER - Get guidelines and information for fostering a safe campus during COVID-19 at

Robertson School alumnus wins prestigious Ted Yates Award

Jesse Vaughn is a 30-time Emmy award winner, a 2018 Virginia Communications Hall of Fame inductee and a VCU 2013 Alumni Star.
jesse vaughn

Film Director and Producer Jesse Vaughan will be recognized with the prestigious Ted Yates Award of the National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, which also awards the Capital Emmys.

The award is named for the late NBC News producer Ted Yates and is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding professional and personal qualities in their contribution to television news and public affairs. Vaughn will receive the award in August at the 62nd Emmy Awards Gala, which will be held virtually this year.

Vaughn, an alumnus and member of the Robertson School advisory board, has had an extraordinary career since graduating from its broadcast journalism program in 1980 and has been recognized with 30 Emmys for his work in television and film. This year alone he is nominated for eight additional Emmys. (This article in the Richmond Times-Dispatch from 2014 details Vaughn's career and life.)

The Robertson School and VCU honored Vaughn with the induction to the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame in 2018 and the recognition as an Alumni Star in 2013. Vaughn has been a strong supporter of the Robertson School and a mentor to its students as an alumnus.

← back