travis chezik

Travis Chezik

Job title: Instructor
Affiliation: Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

Chezik has been part of the VCU community since 2015 – first as a student, then as an instructor.

Travis Chezik has been part of the VCU community since 2015 – first as a student, then as an instructor.  He loves mathematics and thoroughly enjoys helping students as they pursue their future goals.

Q&A with Travis Chezik

Where did you grow up? Can you tell us a little about your educational journey?

I grew up about 45 minutes south of Richmond in the county of Prince George. Upon graduation, I went to Old Dominion University for my Bachelors of Science in applied mathematics and eventually came to VCU for my Masters of Science in applied mathematics.

When did you first fall in love with your field of study? What made you decide to work in academia?

I've always enjoyed the puzzle-like nature of mathematics so the coursework I've always found enjoyable. My high school AP Calculus teacher really showed me a sense of enjoyment from his teaching style that subliminally inspired me to pursue this career.

What attracted you to VCU? What are you most excited about in regards to VCU and Richmond?

As mentioned, I grew up not far from the college and always was pulled to the university after visiting VCU’s College of Engineering in high school. Having experienced both sides of the college (as a student and now professor), I look forward to making this college more enjoyable and a worthwhile experience for future Rams.

Can you talk a little about your teaching philosophy? What do you most like about teaching?

At the end of the day, I want to leave a student with some knowledge they didn't have before. I enjoy helping people in all aspects of my life and teaching is such a great platform to do so in an academic and professional setting.

Can you tell us either a quirky fact about yourself or some of your hobbies?

I was adopted from Romania when I was a few weeks old. I can juggle. I enjoy video games, hiking, fishing with my family, reading and I’m a big sports fan (Ravens, Orioles, NASCAR). I also volunteer as a coach for t-ball in the summer.